Poets logo

Falling

We're all just waiting for the day when love overpowers our fears.

By Amy SanginarioPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image: Wishbonix

I fear falling too hard for someone who will let me down

I fear the past repeating itself

I fear overthinking my fears and going insane

I fear I'm insane right now

I fear I'm going to get hurt again

I fear that if I do, I'll have lost all my friends

I fear I'll lose everything

I fear hopelessness and unrest

I fear my true love won't pass the test

I fear being afraid

I fear death

I fear my loved ones dying before me in the end

I fear everything I've feared will come true

But most of all, I fear you

You and how you looked at me

The way that you saw what I could see

The way you had nothing, but

I looked at you and could barely breathe

The way you had me overwhelmed

as if you'd cast a love spell

I fear the way I love you

I want you here with me today

I want you close like you should be,

but we were broken from the start

My heart, it hurts more than you know,

and I fear that it shows

I hope you don't feel the same

I wish that I could take your pain

I think I have already though

and I wish it never hurt this way

Please be there for yourself, my love

and think of me when you smile

Think of me often if you want,

but I fear the thought of being close

So, as I lay me down to rest,

I pray the Lord our souls can mend

And as I lay me down to sleep,

I pray I will see you again

It was too much too soon, my dear

And sadly, we can't change the past

I prayed that we would last

and I love you more than anything

I hope that you don't hate me but

I can't take away your pain

Please be okay for me

Maybe in the future, we will meet

and rise above those fears we keep

into the sky where love will last

We'll forget the past and move on

Because it really doesn't matter

Maybe tomorrow, we'll be together

But for today, I will be here

Hoping and waiting for the time

when love overpowers our fears

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Amy Sanginario

Aspiring writer, illustrator, and psychic with an affinity for poetry and horror. Many of my poems are done through automatic writing- A natural connection to the Divine Source of wisdom. Read with an open mind for best results 🔮✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.