Poets logo

Fall Colors

For The Perfect Challenge

By Tressa RosePublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2
Fall Colors
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Waking up to the sound

Of the same chirping bird

I’ve heard since I was a little girl.

It’s melody inviting me

To start the day with a smile.

Flipping on the coffee pot

And smelling its bittersweet brew

Impatiently waiting for it to finish

So I can taste its warmth

Down my throat and into my belly.

It’s a beautiful fall day

The trees are all different colors

Leaves starting to hit the ground

I decide it’s the perfect day for the mountains.

I pack some snacks

And a bottle of water

And put my sweet little dogs harness on

Readying her for the trip.

We climb into my jeep

And head into the canyon

Where the colors are even more pronounced

It’s the perfect type of weather for a hike

Sunny but not too hot

A few pretty clouds planted throughout the sky.

The air up here is crisp and clean

There is even a little creek

Where my dog goes and takes a drink

The water trickling over the rocks.

I came early enough

I get to sit on a big rock

At the top of the canyon

And watch the sunrise

With all its majestic colors

Purples and pinks of different shades

All warming me to my core

And beckoning in a new

And glorious day.

inspirationalnature poetry
2

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    This sounds like the best day! How marvelous you get to spend the day with the doggo at the canyon! All my days start with coffee 😂

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem! Fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.