Poets logo

Hope

I had a dream

By Tressa RosePublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
10
Hope
Photo by Dayne Topkin on Unsplash

Why does the pursuit of happiness

Always have to be a pursuit?

Why is life not fair

And some people brute?

I woke up this morning

With tears in my eyes

For in the dream I had

People didn't senselessly die.

There was no illness

Or hate,

No shame

Or disgrace.

People loved with whole hearts

And we all had full plates.

Our problems we shared

And solved them together

So those cold rainy days

They didn't last forever.

We communicated softly

And thought before we spoke

In this poem,

My intention is simply hope

And my goal is to provoke.

Provoke you to try

Just a little bit harder

To be that better person

And go a little farther.

inspirationallove poems
10

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Addison M4 months ago

    I'm not usually one for positive poems but this resonated with me. The first two lines and the question says it all. Well written!

  • Test4 months ago

    This is beautiful. Great writing with an excellent message.

  • Test4 months ago

    The sentiment in this is just so lovely. I definitely hink if people thought before they spoke, really thought, then our world might be the kind of place in your dream. Really touching piece Tressa 🤍

  • Beautifully written!!! "People loved with whole hearts" is a poignant and meaningful line.

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Hopeful indeed 🥹 “we communicated softly / and thought before we spoke” is my favorite line - lovely concept, wish there were more lol

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Dear Tressa Rose - I'm so glad you've scrolled through some of my articles; means a lot. I'm replying here because I'm not an Atta-Boy emoji guy and I want to make this a bit more personable. This 'Hope' caught my eye; we need hope with such unrest of late. I'm so glad I've discovered your unique and creative way of storytelling; I'm not a Poet and I know it. But, this one caught my eye among your so many eclectic topics - 'Hope' you're still offa the nicotine - just publishing an article about that tomorrow.  Tressa, I'm just a retired legal writer morphed into a 'Goof-Writer' nothing more. I don't do contests/rewards but I enjoy reading 'Shorts' from all over the world on this marvelous platform. *I've subscribed to you with pleasure hoping to see more of your work.  Jay, Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • C. Rommial Butler8 months ago

    Very well done! Lovely poem!

  • ♥️♥️♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.