Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Fake Friends

A. H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published 12 months ago 1 min read
Fake Friends
Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

How do I know if they’re fake friends or real? People don’t come with a banana peel.

I can’t see what’s inside, I’m feeling a little fried.

I wish I knew what people were thinking, so I wouldn’t feel like giving half of them a beating.

People lie, cheat and steal. I’ve been stabbed in the back, and wish the pain wasn’t real.

I’m almost sick of trying. I don’t show it, but inside I might be crying.

I’ll sit here alone, life seems over blown.

Why bother trying. I’m so sick of everyone lying.

Wait, I’m getting a call. It’s my mind reading friend from the mall. He’s friendly, intimidating and tall. I’ll bring him to meet you, but don’t brawl. He’ll tell me the truth about you without stall. I can now resolve this, once and for all! You’ll regret being fake, the gall.

how tosurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirationalhumorheartbreakfact or fictionchildrens poetrycelebritiesart

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    Lol I loved this! Amazing job.

  • Oooo, I wish I had a mind reading friend too! I hate these fake friends!

  • M.O. Hidalgo12 months ago

    🔥🔥😤

  • Ha😁Great Piece ❤️📝💯❗

Alex H Mittelman Written by Alex H Mittelman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.