Poets logo

Fading Pawprints

A Poem on Loss

By Josey PickeringPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
3
Fading Pawprints
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

There’s a spot on my bed

where you used to lay.

It’s empty now

and I long for you to appear and curl up there.

Your dog bed is empty too

like a memorial to you

your fur covered siblings

still smell you on the air.

I went to fill your dog bowl

with your favorite kind of food.

Your collar didn’t jingle,

I couldn’t hear the tap of your nails on the floor.

It’s quiet here tonight,

without you here to let us know you’re in charge.

I would give anything to hear you bark once more,

Even just at the wind on the door.

I hope you sleep sweet tonight,

In your new home among the stars.

May the ones I have loved and lost,

love you like I did here on earth before.

In memory of my dog Brittany, who crossed the rainbow bridge today. 2009-2023.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.