Poets logo

Three Little Words

A poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
3
Three Little Words
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I’m no longer afraid to say I love you.

Three little words had me in a chokehold

and I was gasping for air to even speak.

Three little words were thrown at me like daggers,

then ripped from the wound in my heart, left to bleed out.

I was too afraid to say I love you,

because they might not say it back.

Would they even mean it if they did?

I walked in broken glass

Just to form I love you in a mosaic to never be seen.

Through time and trust,

I’ve learned to say it again.

Maybe now I say I love you too much,

But I’m making up for every time I couldn’t say it before.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    So heartfelt, Josey. The vulnerability that you felt and then once that was conquered, the floodgates of realisation opened. Loved this.

  • "Just to form I love you in a mosaic to never be seen. Gosh that line was just so deep! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.