Poets logo

Fading Away

Dark Poetry by Dylan Crilyn

By Dylan CrilynPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Dark bittersweet pain swallows me, Filling the cracks of my soul, Swirling around inside an empty shell, A shell once full of life.

It makes me wonder, What value does my life hold, Death calls my name, Echoing all around the house.

Ready to embrace the pull of Death, As the warm arms hold me, Glimmering light shines from far away, Pleas of love fill my ears.

You hold me tightly, Begging me no to leave you, Voices sound muffled, As though I’m underwater.

I try to smile at you, To crack open my eyes, Words try to escape my lips, To let you know it’s ok.

My efforts fail me, Darkness grasping my soul again, Your tears still falling, For my slowly fading life.

Warm words of love reach me, Telling me you truly care, Your love for me becoming a thread, Guiding me back to you.

Light and warmth fill me, Finally my body responds to my will, Eyes slowly opening, My nightmare ends as I see you.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dylan Crilyn

I enjoy writing poetry to express my deepest thoughts and emotions. They have a tendency to be dark, but not all of them. I hope you all can enjoy my poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.