Poets logo

Faces in the Walls

an "automatic writing" poem

By Victoria RussoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Faces in the Walls
Photo by Tamara Gak on Unsplash

Faces in the walls

scowling down at me, reaching out for me

I listen to them

I look into them through the peephole

and I see them dancing, dancing

touching their dresses at a party

dancing around the wicker chair

I look at them from the peephole

a feathered dress

an expressionless gaze

stares back at me through the peephole

I flutter my wings and try to take flight

but the stone-cold eyes have me trapped

flat against my bed, looking up at the popcorn ceiling

where tiny cherubs laugh and play

and point their arrows at my face

I lie wide-eyed and I scream

until the blood gushes from my lips

and I can get up

three women watch me

two with bodies of tree trunks

they steal toward the blood and take it in hand

pouring into their little vials

a part of me

I take my leave out of this room that

is locked with a forbidden key

the walls pounding against me as I slam my hand

against the door that never opens

the sunlight pours in and takes my favor

I leave with glitter on my lips

and my memory fades

back to the faceless room

where masks and music blow in the breeze

and a thin man stands in a corner,

his skin tight around his bones and

his flesh pulling at the seams until he bursts

into a million fragments that I try and catch

but the pieces slip between my fingers

and I see my broken face in a shard of mirror

and step away

I’m scared of myself, frightened, disgusted

my face is disfigured

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.