Poets logo

Eyes

by Lydia Seales-Fuller

By Lydia Seales-Fuller Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Eyes
Photo by JD Mason on Unsplash

It felt like a soft brush down my cheek, my breath was gone, good Lord! I could not speak.

A guy in my group shared a joke, but all that I could feel was that smooth stroke

I felt so very shy, but my heart wanted to fly

Who could it be? What uniqueness did he see?

I wondered if my hair was crazy or if my buttons were done haphazardly?

Oh, for the courage to look, but I am the girl bravery forsook

So, there I stood not daring to twitch, wishing someone would touch the light switch

My wish for blessed darkness was answered, but that was because my lungs had not stirred

Breathe, girl breathe, no fainting, not while he is gazing at you as if you’re a painting

Now I’m talking to myself, I trembled as my breath expelled

Feeling very warm, I must look, or I will squirm

Thank God for long lashes, they cover my eyes like window sashes

Eyes scan the room, sweeping it like a broom

Dear God, our eyes must have made a sound as they met

This man was the doctor of my pet

Hallelujah, this was no private crush

His look made me hear my pulse rush

The smile we shared

Made others stare

He’s coming

My heart is

Jumping

I loved

This man

Two years

Oh, joy!

My eye

tears

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.