Poets logo

Exploring Faith

Faith & Pain

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
By Samer Daboul

I still wonder why you beat me, Dad, Just for going to church, was it so bad? With friends I went, curious and free. To see their faith, what harm could be?

In the quiet pews, I sought to understand another's belief, a different land. But you saw sin, in every prayer, and answered with fists, a father's despair.

Bruises bloomed where your anger rained, each strike a question, each blow unexplained. Why must curiosity be met with pain? Why must love for learning leave a stain?

I wasn't rebelling, I wasn't turning away. Just a boy exploring on a Sunday. Yet you saw betrayal in my innocent quest, and punished me fiercely, forgetting the rest.

Innocent eyes, now shadowed with fear, A child's heart, shattered and seared. The church bells tolled, a mournful sound, as tears fell silently, hitting the ground.

I still wonder why, in the dark of night. What made you see my quest as blight? Why did love twist into such a rage? Locking a curious child in a cage?

I sought the light, but found the dark, In the places your wrath left its mark. Dad, I wonder, will you ever see? The pain you caused just for being me?

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran15 days ago

    Gosh this was so heartbreaking 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    He sounds like a hypocrite who was afraid of the truth you were seeking, so took it out on you. Heartbreaking happening expressed so well in your poetry!!

C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.