Poets logo

Quiet of this Cell

Quiet

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 8 days ago 1 min read
4

In the quiet of this cell, I trace my past, A shadowed boy, with laughter meant to last. Echoes of joy in the corridors of time, now fade to whispers, muted chime.

A ruthless beast, my father’s design, Crafted me in darkness, a jagged line. Half of me revels in this fearsome role, the other half mourns a lost, gentle soul.

Bars confine my body, not my mind, In these chains, the cruel and kind entwined. Memories of a child, so pure, so bright, crumble in the harshness of night.

Innocence traded for survival's guise, A monster's reflection in hardened eyes. Yet deep inside, a flicker remains, A remnant of youth, amid the chains.

I miss the boy who ran through fields, who knew of love, who laughed, who healed. But now I wear this mask of stone, A creation of blood, flesh, and bone.

In the silence, I confront my fate. Two halves of me in a ceaseless debate. One part longing for a bygone day, the other entrenched in the predator's way.

Oh, to reconcile the halves of me, to find the boy in this tragedy. But here in prison, I play my part, A fractured soul with a divided heart.

surreal poetrysad poetry
4

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 days ago

    This was so poignant. Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 7 days ago

    I hope that boy comes forth and finds the child’s joy and spreads it to the man’s heart!❤️

  • Nailed it.

  • T. Licht8 days ago

    Wow, wow, wow what a poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.