Poets logo

Experiment

Do you ever feel like your purpose is dependent on those around you?

By Imani WaltonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Experiment
Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

I am the first

First child, first grandkid, first niece

The prototype

The role model

Being crushed under the weight of responsibility.

My skin turns me into a walking movement

A library on black rights

A testing ground on what is appropriate to say.

Being a woman means my rights are treated as privileges

Means doctors can choose if they want to hear me

Means my body is meant to produce and nothing else.

It feels like my existence is an experiment

Har far can we push the sad black girl?

What’s her limit?

Using me to see how to treat those after me.

Its a game that I can’t win and most definitely won’t lose.

I may cry in private but when I walk outside

Head held high

I am a role model

I am a teacher

I am a movement.

Even if I never asked to be.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Imani Walton

I used to write all the time and someway, somehow lost my way. Here’s me finding my passion again! I hope you enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.