Poets logo

Embers

Don’t let love burn you out

By Imani WaltonPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
5
Embers
Photo by Wren Meinberg on Unsplash

24. They say opposites attract,

And its true

Because I was water and you were fire

And I couldn’t resist the warmth of you.

Ignoring the fact that the more time I spent with you

The more I disappeared

And you were not a fan of the ghost of me.

Slowly, I condensed back into myself.

Less of myself, but myself nonetheless.

And your embers called out to me once more,

Promising to burn less brightly.

But somehow my return ignited you.

Until I evaporated once more.

heartbreaklove poems
5

About the Creator

Imani Walton

I used to write all the time and someway, somehow lost my way. Here’s me finding my passion again! I hope you enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Whoaaaa! This was so deep and relatable! Loved your analogies of fire and water. Such an awesome poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    This is so beautifully written, Imani!

  • Love it sounds like and and off relationships

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.