Poets logo

Ex-Lovers

Me Vs the World

By Namrata :)Published 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I see them in your hair, they linger in your smell and in the jeans that you wear. Your sweaters reek of them. Your ex-lovers, they live here.

When I look at you, I see them. You're kept on hold, they've got you on the tips of their tongues. They've got me on my tippy toes, got me waiting for their roles, so they can tell me the tales of your past. Replaying those memories and moments like flashbacks. A mere reminder of what I cannot do and what they've done for you.

Played on a cloud, these are the lullabies that ring me to sleep but keep my conscious wide awake. These episodes are ingrained in my mind, they come back to me during the day.

They show me the love you've portrayed, that same love you've downplayed - for me. I see the passion there, it's absent here. I see pity, redemption, and ex-lovers ruffled in your hair.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Namrata :)

just wanna be heard

ig: nxmrata

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.