Poets logo

Everybody Knows

And What They Don't, They Will Make Up

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
7
Everybody Knows
Photo by Damon Lam on Unsplash

Everybody knows, my mind is hazy

Everybody knows, I'm just tryn' to keep the pace

Everybody knows that I'm actn kinda crazy

Everybody knows, I'm just tryn to win the race

*

Everybody knows that life's one big gamble

Everybody knows, I roll with my fingers crossed

Everybody knows that my brains a little scrambled

Everybody knows, the good guys, count the cost

*

Everybody knows that the dice are loaded

Everybody knows that the cards are stacked

Everybody knows that the trap's, spring-loaded

Everybody knows, it's just a matter of fact

*

So, watch your fingers and watch your backs

The path you follow, leads to broken tracks

Mind your manners and mind your toes

Everybody knows - that's just the way it goes

slam poetry
7

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Oh life is definitely one big gamble and we're all gamblers. Loved your poem!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Yup. Thems the facts.

  • Ain't it the truth!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.