Poets logo

Every summer with you felt like the last

My sonnet on fire in blue

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Every summer with you felt like the last
Photo by Nathan Lindahl on Unsplash

I always thought that my guts kept me like stone until I fell in love with you

Every summer felt like a draining torrent, a deepening chasm, waiting for your call

You were the lifeline to my summer disaster and dream; a fire that wasn’t red but something deep and blue

Your favorite color is blue; whenever I heard your laughter I heard that color too-I always did take in that sound too deeply, like a fall

One summer(every summer) I waited for you, every day, yet we still talked everyday(all night, all day)

I wondered if you avoided me for my garishness, my odd sense of humor---the way I never kept who I was unrevealed

Now, I think back to all those easy laughs, and I know what I had to pay

You were my searing summer pain---in art, I drained my life-blood---in my tears it was sealed

Blue was in my field of vision, your raven hair shining against the summer air, your back turned to me as you run

Your red and orange colored dreams filled me with hopes of being with you in the fall instead of summer---fires that were in your eyes once

Our caring lies and child-like visions all collapsed, my dear sweet friend, like in that song----Black-Hole Sun

I only ever heard the phone ringing, never a knocking door; the echoes of our mirth, a dream-sound I carried on with me all summer--yes, I felt like a dunce

I always felt like my guts kept me like stone until I fell in love with you,

But your stone cold blue fire hit it with the intensity of all of summer in a wave, and now I’m in perpetual winter, always blue.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.