Poets logo

Ever truly present

I believe it’s time it finds me.

By thekarlamaemojaresPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

And I must remember that words have power,

And those first words are like a step,

And a step can move us in any direction.

I know this motion.

I have learned that looking back is not a traveler's friend.

However, timelines are telling, are you ever truly present?

What do you hide with your smile?

Sometimes I am deliberate,

Sometimes I ignore the facts right in front of me.

Today - an old woman asked me to tell her about my past relationship.

Relationships I turn words over and over again in my mind.

I provide her with a chronological list.

Only blaming myself.

But I have paid enough for “love”

And if it exists in a person,

I believe it’s time it finds me.

But I only have the memory of your eyes.

A familiar glance.

Unsure if I miss you or mourning over,

what I convinced myself,

we could’ve been.

I have a heart tarnished by years of neglect.

But I wanted to ask you -

What it was you saw in me.

Perhaps it’s that starving look in your eyes and the feeling,

I could be a dying man’s last meal.

All of my protective agency retreats.

But there’s still that uncertain day

With just enough glimpse of sunlight

To keep one from abandoning hope.

Despite the rapidly gathering omnious clouds,

Threatening a downpour.

I preserve my remaining emotions

To keep them unchanged

I am afraid any further over-extension

Will leave them permanently deranged.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

thekarlamaemojares

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

thekarlamaemojares is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.