Poets logo

Eventually

Hidden poem No.5

By Billie Gold Published 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Very rarely

And in the quiet of a bathtub

I’ll feel my head get clear

Is there something about being so hot and wet that steams it out of me?

I‘ll sit there, shampoo in my hair

Listen to the knocking pipes

And the track that plays skips, stops, suddenly.

Oh

Sometimes when I don't want it

I'll stop thinking of you and get to me

Something therapy cant do

It's something that doesn't undo.

Eventually the track that plays skips, stops, suddenly

I’ll look up (I always do)

And thank whoever stopped that thought

And for that moment I'm not “Getting over you”.

One time of another I'll see my skin, myself, my hands

I'm back for a moment, and in that moment

I can only hope for longer, hope I prune.

I've not grown much older, though it's seemed like a decade

You can't see you all over my face

(I could've sworn they could)

I save myself in an instant.

Little truth baths

Something about the water I guess where I can hear myself breathe in and out

A whole person that doesn't exist to survive you.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Billie Gold

A human woman, apparently

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.