Poets logo

Evanescent

The Stars' Answer

By Brandon LaurenzPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Puzzling are my dreams of late,

cryptic clues they leave for me,

echoing in my waking life

through subtle synchronicities.

Borrowing from my greatest hopes,

desires, worries, fantasies,

They take a myriad of forms,

to tease, despair, enlighten me.

Though many dreams have come and gone,

a passing phantom while I sleep,

there are those that turn opaque,

that memory decides to keep.

One of which I’ll share with you,

a dream that warrants closer look!

For it was something truly strange,

a story from another’s book.

There I sat, at water’s edge,

swapping tales with those departed,

laughing, joking, making joy,

seizing the moment, ever light-hearted!

But soon the ghosts of those who’d passed

began to shift and fade away,

and I, unready, shed a tear,

yet smiled and thanked them for their stay.

I then glanced up, eyes freshly damp,

at stars that gently kissed the lake,

and willed myself to take a form

that let me soar above this place.

With fiery wings I took swift flight,

a Phoenix soaring toward the sky,

my sizzling soul refused to quit –

I had to ask, I had to try.

And when I reached that mystic place,

that starry, distant, heavenly sea,

Without words, I asked the universe-

the question radiated out from me:

“Why are we mortals cursed to love

Those that one day will not be?”

The answer came from everywhere:

This is a gift – not malady.

A warm glow then surrounded me,

and to the lake I did return,

with new wisdom now part of me,

a question asked, a lesson learned.

"Life is precious because it ends,"

this insightful knowledge now candescent…

Let yourself love deeply, bravely,

especially since it’s evanescent.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Brandon Laurenz

A fledgling writer with a passion for captivating stories who is just getting started on their journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.