Poets logo

Espresso Yourself

Drink Coffee and do stupid things faster!

By Lilly CooperPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
15
Espresso Yourself
Photo by Katie Drazdauskaite on Unsplash

The sun rises to bring forth the people of the world,

from their beds where they lay safely curled.

The deprived masses seek your comforting embrace,

your warmth and encouragement for the challenges they will face.

Today would be impossible, a write off, a farce,

if not for you, our true love, of a whole other class.

We are in your debt, one we can never repay.

There is however, so much we can say!

This Ode I dedicate to you,

Dearest Coffee.

By Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Latte with double shot?

Or at home brewed in a pot?

Cappuccino with picture in the milk foam,

Or in a porcelain mug with a favourite tome?

Barista made at our favourite Café,

that one on the side street, out of the way.

Alone in the peace or in the company of friends

we sip away on our favourite blends.

This Ode I dedicate to you,

Dearest Coffee.

By Tony Lee on Unsplash

At the moment the aroma is detected

a mind is diverted, concentration effected.

The need to partake in a cup of this obsession,

is what has caused to spring up, an entire profession.

Caffeine stimulation is not your only appeal.

The taste, oh life-bringer, is what seals the deal.

Tea drinkers who snub your intensity,

will never understand this loves immensity.

This Ode I dedicate to you,

Dearest Coffee.

By Clay Banks on Unsplash

I was going to give the Ode Challenge a miss, never having attempted to write on before and having no idea where to start.

And then I read Cathy Holmes Ode Oh, Teacup of Old. I have to thank her for the inspiration. I've included a link to her poem below. It is really lovely and worth the read.

I've really enjoyed putting this Ode together. As a Coffee Addict myself, this is a little tongue-in-cheek but I'm sure there are others out there who will relate!

Thank you for reading! Now, go refill your coffee cup!

love poemshumor
15

About the Creator

Lilly Cooper

A journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.

I may be an amateur Author, but I love what I do!

Subscribe to join me on my journey!

Click the link to connect with other Australian Creators on Vocal Media Creators Australia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Great entry, good luck!

  • Simona Rosso9 months ago

    I'm proud of you for not giving up on the Ode challenge and, as a coffee lover, I loved your poem!

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    This hit me in the feels! Iced coffee is my thing! Loved this!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I don't drink coffee, but love adding it to my yogurt! And I'm a huge fan of tiramisu. Really enjoyed reading your ode.

  • I'm a coffee addict too! Loved your ode so much!

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    I'm more a tea person myself ;) Lovely poem! Well done

  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    Oh yes! This is definitely the perfect poem for me, I love my coffee 🤗

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Brilliant!!! Loved your ode to coffee!!!♥️♥️💕

  • KJ Aartila9 months ago

    Excellent Ode! Alas, I am the party-pooper, as I don't drink fancy coffee - just black, decaf - got tired of the withdrawal headaches and sky feelings from decaf several years ago - but I still drink caffeinated on vacation, and I can feel the effects after just a cut or two! Makes me talk fast. ❤️

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is wonderful, I say as I sip my coffee. Well done and thanks for the shout out.

  • Coffee can be enjoyed and I enjoyed this wonderful ode

  • ema9 months ago

    I love coffe too! Sometimes I try to leave him, but I always come back 😊, great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.