Poets logo

enough

A grocery list for M. Davis

By Suze KayPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
enough
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

April 7, 2022. 9:14AM.

  • farm-fresh eggs, with nubbly blue shells that crack in divine geometry
  • butter, churned and smacked and salted by an Amish neighbor
  • flour, finely milled, puffing scattered clouds from a torn corner
  • sugar, spilling crystalline and pure as last month's snow
  • salt, carrying the taste of the sea and the smell of nothing
  • rhubarb, slender and stringy, with neon bulbs and bloody tips
  • strawberries, small as my thumbnail, ripe enough to stain my canvas bag
  • lemons, bright and waxy, sour enough to find my scratches
  • a pie dish, deep enough to hold a dream, but not so deep I lose myself

______________

This little poem was written for Mackenzie Davis's "I'd Read Your Grocery List" Challenge. Join the fun here:

list

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (27)

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    This list makes sense now, you are a Pastry Chef . Congratulations On Top Story !!!🎉🎊

  • Mouth watering… though a reluctant cook, I grew up on stewed, home grown rhubarb, custard and cream… mmmmm!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    Delicious and luscious poetry

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Mmm, I want that pie. Those ingredients sound so lush.

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    You sold me on everything on your list. Although I have no use for Rhubarb, I would find one after the lovely description. Happy belated TS!

  • Coozy Space8 months ago

    https://coozyspace.com/product/kitchenaid-classic-series-4-5-quart-tilt-head-stand-mixer/ The type of work I do takes a toll on my hands which made it difficult to use a hand mixer. So after years of wanting one, I finally gave in with no regrets. Now making cakes are easy & enjoyable again.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Beautiful list!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Love the ‘Amish neighbour’ Really clever and well written

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    This is the most gorgeous grocery list I've ever read! Imagery off the charts with keen observations. Great work Suze!

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Oh yay! Top Story!! 🥳

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉♥️

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Love this and sorry only just getting round to reading it now, Suze! Awesome work, Suze and congrats on a well-deserved Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    This is amazing! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    WOOOHOOOO I’m so so excited to see this on the top story page. Big congratulations!! This was definitely one of my favourite recent reads💛

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    That was just lovely. Well done.

  • Zara Blume8 months ago

    This carries all the hope of spring. With the April date, and the line about last month’s snow, I wonder if that was intentional. Strawberry rhubarb pie is a favorite of mine in the season of renewal, and this grocery list breathed new life into me.

  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    I smiled at the part about strawberries. Very well written!

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    I loved the lemon line, sour enough to find my scratches, that was excellent! Well done

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Oh wow, just wow. Beautiful in every way, Suze. And such unique descriptions, like, my mouth is watering AND my brain is firing with new connections. My favorites: farm-fresh eggs, with nubbly blue shells that crack in divine geometry strawberries, small as my thumbnail, ripe enough to stain my canvas bag lemons, bright and waxy, sour enough to find my scratches And that last line, omg. I feel like I'm getting an intimate look into your baker self, perhaps at the beginning of the journey. It's truly gorgeous: "a pie dish, deep enough to hold a dream, but not so deep I lose myself"

  • Oh this was so divine! I especially loved the salt and pie dish!

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Great list, all the staples to make just about anything. You guys are weird.

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is awesome. Every single line was perfect, wow. I especially loved the ending!!

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Suze 'Q' ~ Can I get this to go with a Dollop of 'Happy Place' Giggles ~ 'j'

Suze KayWritten by Suze Kay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.