Poets logo

End of an Era

Spoken word poem about growing up and nostalgia

By Daniel HooksPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
Me as a child wasn’t I cute 😂

Records and tapes,

times that were great,

when mobile phones didn’t exist

or were brick-like.

We went on hikes,

long walks,

football games in the park

until it got dark.

We played board games

and weren’t bored,

Hero Quest and chess,

Draughts, snakes, and ladders were the best.

Rubik's cubes,

ice pop tubes,

frozen lollies,

going to the beach

with a brolly,

being active, roly-polys,

watching four TV channels,

going to Gran's who always had the radio on,

feeding the ducks and swans

with my Mum.

Dad taught me to ride a bike

without stabilizers,

play-fighting with siblings, what could go wrong?

Feeling invincibly strong

and a feeling of hope,

the future wouldn’t be a joke,

and it was the end of an era,

an '80s child, a '90s young man,

some things you have to experience to understand.

By Daniel Hooks AKA Alienpoet

www.alienpoet.com

inspirationalsocial commentaryperformance poetry

About the Creator

Daniel Hooks

A poet, activist and story teller who currently battles with a severe mental health problem.

Facebook Alienpoet

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶8 months ago

    Enjoyable wander down memory lane… my earliest bike riding efforts involved close encounters with the lemon tree 😵‍💫.

  • Wendyxo 8 months ago

    Such a nostalgic poem… those were the days, although I wasn’t born in that era… poems like this make craft my imagination and I can’t help but wonder what life was like and how beautiful little things were ….,

  • Sugan Ya 8 months ago

    Nice poem...So nostalgia...! Congratulations on the Top Story...

  • Avijit Das8 months ago

    Nice one!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Beautiful work! I'm in the same age range as you. Man those sure were the dayz! I wish I had a time machine! Great job! I enjoyed reading this piece. What great memories! 😊

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Nice 📝💯♥️✌️😉

  • Lisa santos8 months ago

    Something nostalgic is always worth to remember Wise words!!

  • Brenda Auma8 months ago

    This poem beautifully captures the nostalgia and simplicity of a bygone era. It reminds us of the joy and innocence we experienced before the digital age took over. The imagery of playing board games, going on hikes, and spending time with family evokes a sense of warmth and happiness. It's a lovely piece that reminds us to cherish the memories and experiences that shaped us. Well done, Daniel Hooks!

  • Shirsendu Chakma8 months ago

    nice poets. love this

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    A nice bit of nostalgia, well penned. Here's to simpler times and your Top Story!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Ah. Sigh. Great work and very nostalgic. 😊👏👏 I loved snakes and ladders and beach trips with grandma.

  • I'm a 90's child and a 00's teen! Your poem was so nostalgic! I loved it!

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    being a 50's child and a 60's teen, I can easily relate to this. About ten years ago, I wrote my grandchildren a letter. I guess, more like an essay describing all the "inventions" I'd seen take place in my life, reminding than, they it was their turns to begin keeping records like this. It always makes interesting reading. THANK YOU for reminding me that it's probably time to redo my list.

Daniel HooksWritten by Daniel Hooks

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.