Poets logo

Empty Spaces

Pieces

By Sarah LennPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Sometimes I wonder

How many times I can shatter

And rebuild myself

It seems to me

That over time

Small pieces get lost

And I am never quite whole

In the same way

Perhaps it is for the best

That I will forever long

For those missing shards

And the empty spaces

they've left behind

If it weren't for them

I might have been able

To convince myself

That it never happened

That we never happened

That I never swallowed up

Desire and passion,

Hope and love,

And sent them to another

Dimension

Where you reside

Apart from me

And with someone else

A place where we no longer

Speak each other's names

A place where we pretend

That we never existed

Because the alternative

(the one where you are

still in this world but choose

to stay away)

Is far too painful

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Lenn

Using writing as a way to capture snapshots of emotion on a screen whilst life happens. And life has thrown me some curve balls. Always striving to find a path through the chaos...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.