Poets logo

Empty Shelves

Space 23

By Leesa WestwoodPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Empty Shelves: Space 23 (installation)

I keep finding myself in the same places

more often than I want to be.

And for someone who’s never wanted routine,

I seem to be stuck in the same cycle between

ignoring responsibilities

and pretending there’s never any time for just me.

I thought I could find comfort in being alone

until everyone that I knew was suddenly gone.

And I always wanted a place that I could call my own,

but now that I have it it doesn’t feel like it’s home.

There’s nothing on the shelves reminiscent of me,

no dust bordered imprints from memories.

So many spaces with my marks unseen.

This has always been my reality

in all the temporary ”homes” in which I’ve been.

This is only space twenty-three.

It’s said that home is where the heart is.

If that’s the truth, then I’ve lost count of all the places I’ve lived.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Leesa Westwood

Leesa Westwood is a full time visual artist and hobby poetry writer based in Toronto, Canada.

Her work often focuses in themes of trauma, disassociation, delusion, and growth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.