Poets logo

Emotionally Raw

Poetry: BreaKup

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Emotionally Raw
Photo by Charlie Foster on Unsplash

Emotionally Raw

I thought I was stronger than this,

I knew moving on from you would be hard,

But never thought I’d be stuck in a cycle of reminisce,

Where you feel so close, yet so far.

Logically, I know we are done,

That I no longer get to talk to you,

But your name still so sweetly slips off my tongue,

As if you're just away and we’re not through.

There are only few moments where I can go free,

From thinking about you,

And who you use to be,

I’m tired of you overcoming my thoughts,

Of feeling this way after months,

I just want my idea of you to get lost,

Where you are out of my head for once.

My friends assure me I will eventually get passed it,

That everyone grieves differently,

That there's someone out there who will fit,

And how you can't force your heart’s entry.

But honestly,

I want this feeling to be gone,

To stop loving you and move on,

To forget who you were to me,

So, I can once again see clearly.

But this growth feels slow,

Different emotions every day,

Sometimes I feel high, and others really low,

When all I want to do is feel okay.

But I don't,

I feel lost,

From the person I'm finding myself to be again,

And the person I was with you,

I miss what we were then,

But moving past this grief seems overdue.

I'm not emotionally ready for someone new,

To have the stability to build a relationship,

But meeting someone is something I want to do,

Because I need to release your mental grip.

Because I wake up with you in my thoughts,

You somehow fall into every conversation,

By the end of the day, I’m emotionally raw,

I feel like I need breakup intervention.

I’m tired of crying over you,

I dream of a day where you don't matter to me,

Where you were just someone who I knew,

And where without you I can be happy.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.