Poets logo

Embrace your Grey Hair! Don’t run from it!

Samuel’s Thought’s the Blog

By Samuel Published 5 months ago 2 min read
Image: 📷 by Author

Okay, let's get the scientific stuff out of the way first. Why do we go grey as humans? The human hair loses pigment cells as we age, therefore a lot of the melanin in our hair follicles die, resulting in a transparent hair appearance (white, grey) hair strands.

Now, time for the fun! Although I'm nowhere near going grey because I'm only freshly out of my 20s and just touching my 30s, my hair isn't anywhere near in the process of greying. So why would I be counting down until I start to go grey? Because I look at grey and transparent hair as a rite of passage. It also shows that you have been on this earth for some time and hopefully gained wisdom, not just growing old and grey. I look at grey hair as a sign that you have achieved a certain age. And unlike many people who dread getting older because they fear leaving all the things from their youth behind, I get it. Being able to run, jump, stay up all night, and get in and out of bed without needing a heat wrap. As much as I will miss those things as my youth passes by, I'm more excited about the things that my young mind hasn't even learned yet. Just because I am not of age, no matter how intelligent or smart I am, 20-year-old me could research being 30 all day and night. The ups, the downs, how my body would change. I just had to become 30 to experience certain things that no research or studies could teach me. Experience will always be the best teacher. So, as I continue to age and get wiser, I can't wait for the pigment to start to fade. It's a milestone! Some people unfortunately may not even live to see the day they get greys, and I'm more excited for all the things and wisdom that will be unlocked in my 40s and 50s than I am for the things I had to leave behind in my 30s and 20s. How are you guys going to embrace your grey hairs? To me, it's so much deeper than "physical" appearance.

-Samuel

inspirational

About the Creator

Samuel

3x best selling author * Writer & Blogger

I write what you need to read not what you want to read the elephant in the room will always be addressed 📝🐘

Instagram: @samuelshouseofart

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    🤔 Well, the heat wrap was in bed with me last night, LOL. Nice piece. Someone told me that an older person told them 60-70 are best years of your life. To gray, or not gray…

Samuel Written by Samuel

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.