Poets logo

Embrace the Mess

That is You

By Alisha WilkinsPublished 30 days ago 1 min read
Like
Embrace the Mess
Photo by Alex Diaz on Unsplash

It’s very hard for me to be nice to myself.

I’ve been through so much, that most times,

I literally just want to shut down and not think about what could have been.

Today was one of those days,

Another breakdown for the books.

Another round of tears to soak into my shirt.

Be nice to yourself.

Give yourself the time to process, to grieve, to feel what you need to feel to heal.

Be KIND to YOU.

Today’s another day without you.

And that’s okay.

Today feels like another uphill battle.

When has it not been a battle?

Today is another struggle,

But I’m going to be okay.

Today is just another day.

Another day to embrace the mess that is me.

Today is not yesterday.

Today is not tomorrow.

Today is the day that I realize that I will be okay.

Broken doesn’t mean dead.

Broken gives you the chance to take those pieces,

Take those moments and reglue them together.

Turn something that was broken and shattered

And make a new masterpiece

You don’t have to be broken forever

You can make new memories

You can have more smiles

You can learn to live again.

Maybe you feel like this is it,

Maybe you feel like giving up.

Turning back, even.

Don’t.

Don’t let yourself fall into the grave.

Don’t give into the darkness,

Or the depth of pain that was destroying your soul.

Don’t be afraid.

Life isn’t purgatory.

Embrace the mess that you call yourself.

Pick yourself up off the floor after you’ve cried your heart out.

Wipe your face and embrace yourself.

Life hasn’t ended today.

Gratitude
Like

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.