Poets logo

Elevator Strangers

Sharing Closeness In A Closed Space

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Elevator Strangers
Photo by Reneé Thompson on Unsplash

Sometimes

in an elevator

with strangers

I wonder about them

:

Who are they?

What's their life like?

What's on their mind?

Where are they going?

In this building and beyond

:

Examining them

with curiosity

as the lights flash

and bells ding

As the doors open

and closes

:

Creating a story

that I think suits

their image

their energy

their expressions

:

In the empty elevator

I look at myself

in the reflection

of the metal doors

:

I see a woman

that the girl I used to be

wouldn't recognize

:

Then I realize

I don't think anyone

would ever guess my story

by seeing me in an elevator

:

within the passing of moments

of sharing closeness

in a closed space

without words

:

I smile

at my distorted image

reflected

on the interlocking metal crystals

:

Knowing

I will be as much of a mystery

as anyone else is to me

as strangers in an elevator

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.