Poets logo

Electric illumination

A Poem

By Kale RossPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
6

I used to follow power lines home,

and chase lightning down to the dock.

I’ve been electrocuted so many times,

I have become immune to the shock.

Now I hunt for protons with silver spoons

and copper toothpicks. It's an electrifying addiction

I have found to be shockingly therapeutic.

...

The love I yearn for is quite ancient.

Yet relatively young, and remarkably patient.

It hibernates between the

damaged pixels of old photographs.

Concealing its location within the lines

of tragically romantic paragraphs.

Watermarks act as the cipher.

Submerging answers which can

only be revealed by summoning fire.

So I'll light the torches, and allow

climatic illumination to guide my

drifting heart back to the sandy shore.

Where the love I yearn for will literarily

be awaiting my soul with open arms of war.

surreal poetryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational
6

About the Creator

Kale Ross

Author | Poet | Dog Dad | Nerd

Find my published poetry, and short story books here!

https://amzn.to/3tVtqa6

https://amzn.to/49qItsD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Oooo, I really loved the idea of the love you're yearning for hibernating between damaged pixels of old photographs!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.