Poets logo

Echoes of Emotion

Reverberations of the Heart

By Mercedes CoutoPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3
Echoes of Emotion
Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash







In the hollow halls of memory's maze
Voices call out from long departed days
Each word and phrase that lingers in this place
Bursts forth again with untamed grace

Like echoes down a canyon's stony walls
With no regard for reason's usual laws
Without my will they shout and sing and scold
Those ghostly echoes from the past's dark folds

They rumble forth from somewhere deep within
Erupting with a fervor to be heard
Reminding me of where I've been and who I was
Before experience left its marks and scars

No barrier or guard can block their sound
These echoes shake the firmest footing found
Rattling the cages I've constructed round
Terrains I thought were safe and settled ground

But in their reckless repetitions there resides
A chance to learn – if I quiet my mind and listen
Let them speak their wild truths unrestrained
And meaning make of what today seems strange

For in these echoes living yet inside
Beats the true pulse of all I feel and hide
Long buried sous, uncovered and revived
May teach me how to heal wounds scarred with time

So I will walk with patience through this place
And give due ear to each voice that I face
Mine what wisdom still remains beneath the pain
Set free what's changed, and leave behind the chains.

inspirationalsad poetrylove poemshumor
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so positive and uplifting! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.