Poets logo

Ebony and Ivory

The unique bond between black and white describes me on this day.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Ebony and Ivory
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

Ebony and Ivory

Together are piano keys

Conflicting tones

Just like my own

Energy and moods

Changing attitudes

By Amir Doreh on Unsplash

Sometimes white and pure

Then dark, black, and unsure

No thank you Kodachrome

I'm fully monochrome

Always unending

Forever blending

Their shade of gray

Can make my a day

By Piotr Makowski on Unsplash

My world is black

At times there is lack

It's also white

When I gain insight

These hues can blend

And make me bend

Their shade of gray

Can ruin a day

I'm black, I'm white

When you view me on sight

Combined ethnicity

Is what define me

My moves bring checkmate

And determine my fate

One day I'm light

So sunny and bright

The next it's night

And nothing goes right

Ivory and ebony

So much a part of me

By Alexander Andrews on Unsplash

An oyster's pearl

A view of the world

Moody blues

Within these hues

Dark rich ebony

Soft light ivory

Can't you see

Both are part of me

I'm black, I'm white

When you view me on sight

A checkerboard square

Salt and pepper hair

Combined ethnicity

Is what define me

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.