Poets logo

Easy Does It

Poetry

By Sian N. CluttonPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
12
Easy Does It
Photo by Zachary Kadolph on Unsplash

I live in my pyjamas

I should probably not admit

But the older I become

The less I give a shit

I have many more pyjamas

Then I do have clothes

I know many must be thinking

Dear God, she's one of those

But people shouldn't be so quick

To judge what they don't know

Different people have their reasons

Many secrets that don't show

I don't leave the house much

To be completely honest

I love my bed and my pyjamas

And the comfort that is promised

Wearing clothes can be quite painful

Depending on the day

I'd never put on shoes again

If I ever had my way

Walking can be a challenge

Sometimes breathing even more

So I'm always seeking comfort

Before I'm even out the door

No amount of planning

Can quite take away the sting

So if I have the choice

I'm choosing to stay in

Before the aching turns to burning

And snowballs down the hill

When simply putting my socks on

Can be a tearful test of will

So I have come to peace with it

I'm sure there are many who’ll disagree

One step at a time, easy does it

Is the way that works for me

There's only one person I'll get dressed for

One smiling little face

That I'll make sure I don't disappoint

In this unrelenting unfair race

He has a charming little smile

And thick red unruly hair

I'll brave whatever terrain I must

To show him that I care

I even climbed a climbing frame

Today when he got stuck

When he called for me to save him

I could not believe my luck

I begged him to safely slide

His way back down to me

But he couldn't take a single step

A fear of heights, apparently

And I couldn't just leave him up there

He was overcome with desperation

So I swallowed hard and began to climb

Hiding my frustration

His relief when I finally reached him

Made my screaming body worth it

As I slid with him to freedom

I figured I deserved it

I know better than to put my body

In that kind of situation

If I'd stayed in my pyjamas

Another path he might’ve taken

But now I am the hero

Albeit a crumbling one at best

Back in my pyjamas

And back in bed to get my rest

Tomorrow I will surely pay

For today's miss-judged decision

At least I managed to save my boy

As I pray for my own remission

slam poetrysad poetrylove poems
12

About the Creator

Sian N. Clutton

A horror and thriller writer at heart, who's recently decided to take a stab at other genres.

I sincerly hope you find something that either touches your soul or scares your socks off.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 3 months ago

    I felt every word in your heart touching story 💜

  • Jollyoddbod Poetry6 months ago

    I am speechless Sian! this work is a masterpiece - the way you use the levels to move the reader into a different depth. Wow... Nice work!

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    I don't know what to say. I thought when I started reading it, it was going to be a tirade, a rant that would make me laugh. And then, it threw me completely. I physically felt my face fall as I continued to read. So moving is a trite way to sum it up but I was moved. Emotional and powerful, it talks of what any mother will do to ensure her child is okay. Was not expecting that at all. Great.

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    I love the way you show the challenges of balancing living with a long term condition and doing things that matter here, really nice job.

  • Gosh this was so profound and powerful! So beautifully written!

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Oh my goodness, the things we do for those kids! This was very good! ❤️

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    This is so powerful. There is so much to say but I have no words ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.