Poets logo

Ease my Soul

A poem about finding the someone meant for you

By Margaret RenteriaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Ease my Soul
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I've lived for so long in a haze, living one day to the next

never looking up, my head kept down. Survival mode was all I knew.

Never once did I think about tomorrow,

thought my ability to dream had died.

The fear of hope a demon from my past.

Then the clouds parted, the sunlight's rays had found me.

I looked up to feel the rays, then I saw you standing there.

An angel snatched from heaven. Sent to grace my path.

Come and ease my soul. Come and ease my soul.

Let the wind blow through me. Let the raindrops cleanse me.

Pull the thunders from the heavens to break the chains that bind me.

I've worn these shackles far too long. Wanna feel the freedom you bring me

Let me run my fingers through your hair. Breathe you deep in every pore.

Cause only you can touch me, in a place I thought was gone.

Only you can ease my soul.

Now with you I dare to dream. I live now for the moment.

Taking pleasure in the little things, counting each breathe as a blessing.

My eyes open wide, joy radiating around me.

Did the heavens hear my anguished plea?

Whispered long ago, in pain and tears?

Before I locked away my hope. Shuttered it so deep inside

Buried deep for all time, ner again to see the light of day?

Now with you I dream again. With you I'm alive again.

Come and ease my soul. Come and ease my soul.

Let the wind blow through me. Let the raindrops cleanse me.

Pull the thunders from the heavens to break the chains that bind me.

I've worn these shackles far too long. Wanna feel the freedom you bring me

Let me run my fingers through your hair. Breathe you deep in every pore.

Cause only you can touch me, in a place I thought was gone.

Only you can ease my soul.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.