Poets logo

Earthworm

Completely literal

By Rob AngeliPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
14
It happens.

A lowly worm, awakened by

past rains

had tried to crawl

across a swath of sidewalk

from patch of grass

to patch of grass. Simple enough.

But the path was longer

and more arduous than

it imagined,

(if worms like us can imagine). The distance

flush against the mucous membrane of

outer tissue (because worms are

like that) was

measured in the texture of concrete; it

died, pitifully: desiccated,

baked by will of sunshine which

dried up all the rain

before it ever reached the other side. From one

patch of grass

to the other.

Have you ever seen a worm,

in this predicament?

inspirationalsad poetrynature poetry
14

About the Creator

Rob Angeli

sunt lacrimae rerum et mentem mortalia tangunt

There are tears of things, and mortal objects touch the mind.

-Virgil Aeneid I.462

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    I did read this when you first posted it. I had very little words at that time, to encapsulate all that it made me feel. First, of course it's literal – completely, utterly, no chance at all that this is an allegory. Nope. Not a one. I love poetry that lies to me. Because ultimately, an honest liar is just being vague for effect. So thank you, for that. I feel I was able to come back to this one and see your intention, your plea with us to see you on the sidewalk and pick you up and place you back in the grass. I hope the rains have begun again, this time from the future. Expertly crafted poem, Rob. I've missed reading you. *** I have been neglecting you and I'm sorry. Not out of any real intention, just been struggling to keep up, and have been managing, just barely, and with much inconsistency. So, again, I apologize. I hope you haven't been angry. ❤️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    I love the way you were able to illustrate the plight of the earthworm!! Great work!!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great poem!

  • Gosh, this made me so emotional and gave me goosebumps! So tragic and poignant!

  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    You had me hooked from "A lowly worm" Rob! I love the lie, worms like us because it invites us to put ourselves in that position. To wonder how our efforts would look to someone with a human's eye view of us as the worm. Maybe I'm reading too much into it, from my ill and sleep deprived brain but I really liked this poem! Really gave me a lot to think about :)

  • Gerard DiLeo7 months ago

    Why did the earth cross the road, right? "Worms like us"--says it all! Well done.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Yes, unfortunately. Well done.

  • Test7 months ago

    Very good, well-done

  • Md . Jashim uddin7 months ago

    WOW !! What a great Poem .. Keep it up ..

  • Brenton F7 months ago

    Yes but you got to look at it from the worms point of view! I like this! A lot.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Yes, many times. Tragic. I love poems that makes the reader think of things from different perspectives. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.