Poets logo

Duty Comes First

A cat has sat on me...

By J. JayPublished 9 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
12

Thought I’d get up and

be a productive busy bee.

Alas,

the cat is now

sitting on my knee.

The prison sentence is an hour,

maybe two or three.

Sure I’ll serve it

but,

I really have to pee.

There is not escape

from the Fluff’s

sitting spree;

I’ll just sit here and wait,

for my time to go free.

I can’t be too mad though,

It’s an honor, you see.

An obligation not taken lightly,

by a productive busy bee.

_______________________________________________

Inspired by true events. No lap is safe in the vicinity of a cat. XD Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed.

_______________________________________________

Next:

_______________________________________________

Previous:

love poemsnature poetryinspirationalhumorchildrens poetryart
12

About the Creator

J. Jay

I like to share my art and writings, whether it's silly or serious. I'll also feature a comic I work on called Writing Whoas, which is about the joys and hardships of being a writer. Stick around to laugh or cry.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Charming! I’d Missed this one! 😊👍

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is fabulous, and so true!

  • Lol so true! 😁❤️

  • Lol, that's definitely an honour! Loved your poem!

  • Ariel Joseph9 months ago

    Love this! All the cat lovers can relate, you never make them move if your lap has been chosen.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    It rises to a whole different level with two 50lb. dogs. I really enjoy both your comics and your poetry.

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    We call it getting “cat locked” in my house haha. Very relatable!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Very entertaining and I know the feeling.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    It's funny...because it's true. ;)

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    This is so wholesome and funny! Im so glad I subbed. This pairing of comic with poem is perfect and such a good time; I’m here for it. Thank you for making me giggle! I feel I’d react the same way if the cat had landed on my lap!

  • Nice piece 😉👌📝❤️❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.