Poets logo

Dustings of Flour and Snow

A cozy transportation to staying inside while it snows.

By Jocelyn Denton Published 5 months ago 1 min read
Fresh from the Oven

Almost nothing compares to the aroma of baking on a cold day.

Bread’s sweet aroma lifts through the air and surrounds me.

Crust will be perfectly golden and crispy.

Dustings of flour cover the counters because I haven’t yet cleaned.

Everyone knows, when the snow falls, I’ll be found baking.

Focaccia and rolls, savory and sweet.

Great bread takes its time to rise, but with patience, I’ll bake the greatest prize.

How could anything that takes all these hours to proof end up disappointing?

I am under the impression that bread cures all and brings us all closer.

Just water, yeast, salt and a little sugar.

Kneading in rhythm with the snow fall outside.

Letting myself lose count of the folds, feeling the satisfaction of push and pull.

My eyes wander to the dampened world beyond my window.

Never before did I look forward to snow.

Only now, with dough drying beneath my nails, I think.

Perhaps I can embrace the quiet of the soft snowstorm.

Quiet isn’t quite as disconcerting when I’m baking bread.

Rarely have I found such peace in the cold days of winter.

Snow has piled up to the windows now.

Tracks from the neighborhood kids faded quickly when they tired and went inside.

Under fresh snow morning footprints have disappeared.

Veiling the life beneath our feet, mother nature pulls up downy covers.

Winter has come to remind us to slow down and breathe.

Xanthous leaves from autumn have been tucked under snow, fall forgotten.

Yeast has bubbled, and its time for me to pull my bread from the cozy heat of my oven.

Zenith of the wintry days, that first bite of steaming soft bread.

For Fun

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JDWritten by Jocelyn Denton

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.