Poets logo

Dust

Book of Job

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
6
Dust
Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

in the deepest space that inhabits

The deepest grief, loss, I have lost

in the deepest part of Sheol

I lost myself, it grudges me like an angry toad croaking into the stormy night

Crying as a whole blanket of dust carries the desert’s heart across the country remains

I am so angry, furious at myself, the grief intoxicated me in a serial rage

I forsake myself, my serene and found God

I linger in the depths of Sheol

As I pray in a long clasp of eternity

I have betrayed myself in my joy, my rapture

As dust forms man I am going to dust, in vain

My fear is damaging to my ego, lost to the catacombs of despair

Why has the forsaken been driven to dust? How the broken-hearted weep for

Salvation

I have done something to cause the blameless to repent for me

I must have,

I forgo my mortality, under the circumstances of disaster

God, take me into the sublime helm of Sheol

I shall slumber under the star’s very dark tears

My prayers bleeding into the dampening expanse

How I loved, often and plenty, how I so deeply,

Deeply loved.

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran21 days ago

    This was so poignant and very relatable as well. Loved your poem!

  • This reflects your poetry talent.

  • Andrea Corwin 21 days ago

    My goodness, this is definitely heartbreak personified! This line's alliteration halted me!

  • JBaz21 days ago

    A soul wanting nothing more than to be loved. A lot of sadness

  • Hannah Moore21 days ago

    This just feels laden with self loathing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.