Poets logo

Drowning in Doubt

A Poem

By Elise Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Drowning in Doubt
Photo by Ian Espinosa on Unsplash

I close my eyes 

and feel the ocean pull me in,

the magic of what's to come

washes over me.

Deeper I go into the possibilities

of all that can be, all that can happen.

But I hear the whispers of doubt

begin to drift into my mind.

I try my best to reject them,

push them down and out of the way,

but the more I resist the stronger it all is

and soon the fear has a hold over me.

I am cold with doubt,

broken by fear

and grieving the dreams now lost.

The ocean pushes me under

with the rest of those who gave up too soon,

she doesn't favor the weak.

And I will forever be here

living in regret

and drowning in doubt.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.