Poets logo

Drowning

You can drown without water.

By Becca MaharPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2

Rising circumstances in life

cause suffocation beyond words.

Wading into the unknown,

the rising tide hitting against the faces

of those who just want answers.

A savior nowhere in sight.

Promises of salvation lost under the dark waves.

Water filling lungs, vision blurring,

but sea creatures becoming crystal clear.

Who says this is the way to live?

Come speak more lies to my face.

Do you enjoy the pain of the water?

Do you enjoy your life slipping away minute by minute?

Pray tell, how to I escape this watery graveyard without losing myself

even more?

Do I give my body, so my soul may escape

by a hair?

How does one continue life, after facing death?

With grace?

With a sense of understanding?

Or does one merely sulk along the curves of the earth,

begging for the embrace of the waves once more?

Pray tell, how do I stop drowning without being in water?

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Becca Mahar

Poetry is my passion. I tend to spill my heart out in my writing, so if you enjoy compelling emotional poems, my page is for you. I'm a neverending abyss of emotions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • SRenaS8 months ago

    So powerful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.