Poets logo

Drowning

It's unsettling to see.

By Ivy RayePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

For years

I’ve been drowning

While everyone around me

Is breathing

Underwater.

It’s unsettling,

And I’ve been waiting

Patiently

For my turn

To be able to breathe again.

My savior,

My lifeguard.

I see you,

Reaching for me,

And I’ve never wanted something more.

You’ve rescued me

And I can finally

Breathe.

It’s the freshest air

I’ve ever breathed in,

And I never want to stop.

The relief

Is astounding,

My lungs no longer

Want to collapse

With every ragged breath.

Except,

You pulled me up,

Only to realize I wasn’t the one

You wanted to save.

And now

I’m drowning again.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ivy Raye

Mother. Writer. Painter. Dream chaser.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.