Poets logo

Drowning

"Drowning"

By Miss MariahPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

It was never subtle

In others it only ever seemed like ripples

That never really caused much damage

For me

It came in tidal waves

Waves of anger, that rushed through me

Waves of sadness, that washed over me

Swells of emotion, that I had no control over

That I had no forewarning of

They'd threaten to drown me

& destroy everything else in its wake

My mentality gave me the bends

Living in a constant undertow

But no one seemed to take much notice

To this tsunami i'd become

As i'd rise & fall with my own tide

All the while watching everyone else stay perfectly afloat

I was barely keeping my head above water

& the shore seemed further & further

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.