Poets logo

Drown in You:

Narrative poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Drown in You:
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I thought,

I’d never fall

for loves spell

de novo

Drown ones troubles

I thought

I sealed off

my heart

drown out heartaches

perpetual sting,

Like a bolt from the blue

Yet,

from my peripherals

she’s a vision

her glance pulls me

in like rip tides

Wrong-footed

caught me, off guard

Suddenly,

I am drowning in her

like a rat

de novo

Drown ones sorrows

All I see is him,

like tunnel vision eschewed

He towers over me like a haystack

His imagination,

creates many places

for us to travel

His affection never unravels

Suddenly,

I am drowning in him,

like the shamrock

de novo

Drowning

in a man, who grasps

at the shortest straw,

swearing it’s a needle

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.