Poets logo

Dropping What?

I dropped it on the floor!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
5
Dropping What?
Photo by dazhi on Unsplash

Sonnet - a fourteen line poem with a variable rhyme scheme originating in Italy and brought to England by Sir Thomas Wyatt and Henry Howard, earl of Surrey in the 16th century. Literally a "little song," the sonnet traditionally reflects upon a single sentiment, with a clarification or "turn" of thought in its concluding lines.

There is the English sonnet, the Italian sonnet, the Petrarchan sonnet and another seven or more other versions of sonnet. Pinterest

The rhyme scheme for a Shakespearean Sonnet is: a, b, a, b, c, d, c, d, e, f, e, f, g, g, with 10 beats per line. Writers digest, Robert Lee Brewer

I am not putting it there anymore!

"How long did it take you to decide this?"

I will have to pick it up from the floor.

Dropping it on the floor, it feels amiss.

~

I was only dropping it a few times,

maybe more, I had to stop keeping track.

It sounded like one of the biggest crimes.

Thankful, it was something that wouldn't crack.

~

"What are you talking about now?" said John.

You mean what is on my desk? You don't know?

"What are you dropping," he said with a yawn.

The index cards I drop or off they blow.

~

I thought I told you when dropping my pills!

That is not all I drop, I drop my bills.

~

P.S. Please remember there are many forms to the sonnet and many learning the form change it as a friend of mine told me a few years back. I wrote it originally ending as a love sonnet if you can imagine that but changed it as the hubby suggested what I am dropping now is my pills.

performance poetryhumor
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Only recently I came to know that there are many types of sonnet. Loved your poem!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Nicely done.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.