Poets logo

Dreams of Summer

A Poem

By Mother CombsPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
7

In the middle of winter

When the days are the coldest

I sit by my fire and dream

Of the days of summer

Hot days when we’d go fishing

Or possibly for a swim in the river

Humid days when we’d sit on the porch

Or out in the yard in a swing made for two

Having a picnic underneath the tree

Watching the kids play a game of freeze tag

While they play with the water hose

Enjoying the blossoms and blooms

While bees and butterflies flit here and there

Waiting for the fireflies to make an appearance

While enjoying an ice tea

All while I dream of summer sitting by the fire

Free Versenature poetryFor FunFamilyfact or fictionchildrens poetry
7

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin for the FB Group ViM

Mike Judey Dharr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    This was so wonderful! Loved your poem!

  • We're two very different people, Mother, lol. For I, while sitting in the shade by the pool or lake drinking ice tea tend to be dreaming of those crisp fall days with changing colors, holiday celebrations, & hot chocolate in winter after a good time ice skating, snowball fights & simply watching it fall.

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Oh ho, I forgot about freeze tag! What was the other one - with a chant that ended in “I hope to see a ghost tonight”?

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    This is a beautiful dream and vision. Lovely!

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    This is my dream too. The magical appearance of fireflies are a great image that represents summer. A cold ice tea to top up 💗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.