Poets logo

Dreaming of What If

What If?

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 9 days ago 1 min read

In this cold cell, I sit and dream,

of paths un-walked, of childhood's gleam.

What if I'd stayed where grandpa's voice,

was the guiding star of a young boy's choice?

I see the old house, a shelter strong,

where stories and love would right the wrong.

With grandma’s cookies and grandpa’s tales,

would I have avoided these iron rails?

What if my other grandma hadn’t left so soon.

Taken away under a sorrowful moon?

Her laughter echoes in memories dim,

a beacon lost, a love grown thin.

Her early departure, a wound so deep.

Stolen whispers in the nights I weep,

her wisdom lost to the shadows of time.

Her absence, my life’s silent crime.

Would her gentle hand have guided me right,

kept me from the shadows of this night?

A boy lost without her gentle gaze,

wandering through life in a foggy haze.

If I could turn back time, rewrite the past,

find the peace that never lasts.

In the arms of those who loved me true,

would I be here, under skies so blue?

In this prison cell, the past does dwell.

A different story I wish to tell,

of love retained, of lives not marred,

of roads not taken, and dreams unscarred.

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.