Poets logo

Dreamer

A Poem

By Amelia ReilingPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

DREAMER

I saw the sun and tried to steal it,

but a feather cried out to the water,

I threw the bird into the water instead.

I was frustrated.

I jumped on a trampoline,

but cats grinned devilishly

in the light of dawn

I grew afraid.

I dove into the sharp tooth of a shadow

and found its form easy.

I saw a flock of crows.

They collaborated to strike the sun off its path.

They grinned wickedly.

I burned them,

fried their hearts,

and ate them.

Cagey ghosts guffawed,

beating their spiked wings.

I could not die if I wanted to, I thought to myself.

I could defend the sun, or I could steal it.

I smiled plastic at the waving moon.

Her music silvers

“The sun is a sweet egg,” she sang,

“and the night is only light turned inside out.

Forever a foil, like gravity.

I long to tell all that I see.

I dispersed into the air

and flowed up to the lacy clouds;

they enveloped me into their gums,

enveloping me into their gums,

The sighs of anchored oaks wept

uninhibited beneath waning leaves

that crumbled like dust,

the ribbed light spilled,

like a worm, glossed,

and the vicarious echoes of violin beckoned,

crazy breezes, small rubber balls,

stars stark in small patches of exposed sky,

I plummeted into a row of riddling roses.

“We pricked you!”

They smiled prettily

with steely, polite eyes.

And the weaving whispers walked

into the waving tinfoil wings

of an aged angel

that spread golden glitter

propelling the decay

that dwelled like hives of bees

She shot my head off.

Shamelessly.

It rolled into the Tranquilizer,

but when I got to the Doctor,

he didn’t want me.

.

So I surged restlessly

into soft soil,

and sprouted into a sunflower,

and the wind blew,

voices rose

all was a confusion,

and the moon sang

as she faded

into pink sky,

streaked with crayons,

the remains of a play pen.

light dispersed

like a bony wind

slapping the water

braiding itself among clouds

raking the ground.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amelia Reiling

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.