Poets logo

Dream Travelers

A New World Dawns

By Renee FesserPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
1
Dream Travelers
Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

The outside world was unknown to her, but she could see a glimpse of it through the window in his room.

Mary is one of the last handful of dream travelers. We have worked together every week for the past year with a hope of finding answers to save our world. There is another world that exists withing this one and this I know for sure. Mary and I have both visited through dreams and visions. I myself have been chosen for my psychic gifts as well as therapeutic strength. I am not a traveler in dreams however, I see beyond the realm when close to Mary.

Let me introduce myself I am Abigale and I am the conduit of this story.

I need to write fast because the world is running out of time.

Mary lays on my couch her golden hair fanning out and down over the velvet pillows. " I went back there again during my dream state travel. This time the room was black except the window. I felt his presence there in the room and felt him watching. I felt peaceful being observed there and magnetically drawn to the window and the world outside that was green and golden."

I transcribe and ask " Look out Mary what do you see?"

In frustration my voice is raised and I lean in examining her face for more information. I see nothing in her gaze or body laying there. I try to see this place she is recalling and it is to no avail.

" I see nothing" Mary gasps.

She grabs her amulet on her neck and cries.

We have been through hundreds of these sessions and this is the first time I have seen her in distress. My phone rings and my husband answers

" Mr. President she is in session now and yes, we are aware that time is dwindling here and Abigale is doing all that she can do."

" The window holds the answer" whispers Mary as she rocks back and forth on the couch in sitting position now.

The dream state is over and Mary is back.

The world is ending sighs Mary. I know there is something beyond and yet I have no more information then you have Abigale. There is another world that we do not see here I know this to be true. There is another dimension and this is the world where I dream travel to every night since I was four shares Mary.

Mary has shared her dream travels with me for over a year now. She is 16 years old and wise beyond her years. I watch her face and the tears that softly fall.

There is nothing we can do but prepare for the end and make peace Mary says to me without words and I nod.

I take Mary's hand and she takes mine. " Abigale, you have been a mother to me and I am grateful". Now my tears fall. I let them flood and feel a release like no other.

" Yes, there is another world and I do hope I will see you there". Mary gives me the biggest hug and I feel a sense of peace. Mary has become my daughter here in this realm although we are not biologically connected we are in spirit.

David let's out a wail and we both jump.

"Girls come here" we leave the den and enter the living room where David is standing in front of the window transfixed and there we see it. The front window has been transformed and we see the other world which Mary has been visiting.

On the other side there is a man motioning us to come to him. He looks familiar and yet unearthly.

David looks back and takes the first step. What I see is a brave new world dawning and now I see my David on the other side. David smiles and motions to us to step forward.

Mary and I take each other's hands and take a look back before stepping forward. We take a giant leap into the unknown. We see the window one last time before it disappears and dissolves into time.

The alarm rings....

"Another weird dream again" says Mary Abigale with a sigh.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Renee Fesser

Renee is writer, therapist and lover of life and love. She loves working with people helping them to live their best lives. As an artist Renee continues to explore what this means. She loves writing about self help, love and poetry .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joshua Franksonabout a year ago

    I love this. 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.