Poets logo

Dream State

A Poem

By K.B. Silver Published 12 months ago 1 min read
2
Dream State
Photo by Batuhan Doğan on Unsplash

Wandering alone through an empty life

Running through the vacant aisles of a hazy store filled with things I used to love.

No one is manning the check stand yet hollow beeping echoes in my ears. I bag my overpriced specialty garbage and lug it into the sun.

I trundle over empty sidewalks and stumble across streets with automated cars speeding down them. Ready to dispassionately flatten me at the slightest misstep.

My key clicks into the lock, and I step into a house I have only heard described and seen in photos. A place I can’t return to, a burned-out husk, collapsed inside.

Positive I am screaming, I push with all my force, but all I feel is hoarse. No one comes, no echo reverberates through these vacuum-still corridors, only dust curtains hang in light panels.

Pushing through the curtains onto the blindingly lit stage. The music plays so loud in my ears, the choreography starts involuntarily. Prescribed motions carry me across. My mind blanks for the time it takes to complete my impromptu routine. As I take my final bow, my vision finally breaks through the light barrier.

Stumbling off the stage through the blaring light, I expect to drop into a lap, instead, the pit seems to never end.

I lie awake immobile, unable to grasp which way is up or what task is next. Lashed down, but I’m bound so tightly I can’t get a look. Desperately scrabbling with the strap and the hook.

Finally, the rope flings free, sending me floating into eternity. All feeling and thought disperse, and I allow all tension to escape into the universe. When finally I feel and see nothing, I cease to be.

That’s when I awake to the real nightmare.

Reality.

K.B. Silver

surreal poetrysad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
2

About the Creator

K.B. Silver

Writing to sort the trapped ideas, and unsaid words left inside my mind. My brand is BlockWife. I am reselling, writing, and creating content on multiple platforms, check me out on link tree https://linktr.ee/blockwife

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • K.B. Silver (Author)12 months ago

    💕🙏 thank you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.