Poets logo

dream lover, en garde

a poem

By Dane BHPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
made with Dall-E

you set your blade down

for me.

danced with my fists,

learned the pace of my boots

on gravel and sand. the moon was red

in a hardened sky. you wore a skirt

made of teeth and broken mirrors. above it,

a skin still weeping blood. at least one of your eyes

was blue. I knew I loved you

in the way I knew the mountains I had never seen

awake. In the way we fought with steps I've never learned.

There were no sparks when we finally touched,

only your open laugh,

your pulse against my boot.

if you find me again,

give me a swagger's bow

and a blue-eyed wink

and show me

a broken glimpse

of mountains I've never seen,

a love I know

but don't remember.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Dane BH

By day, I'm a cog in the nonprofit machine, and poet. By night, I'm a creature of the internet. My soul is a grumpy cat who'd rather be sleeping.

Top Story count: 17

www.danepoetry.com

Check out my Vocal Spotlight and my Vocal Podcast!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.