Poets logo

dream house

home.

By Olivia PichePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2

so baby,

let me tell you about my dream house with windows for walls, wooden floors that creak and a flood of green from the fresh plants.

let me tell you about how my dream house has him in it.

him and his loud laugh that fills the air of our first empty loft.

my dream house has a light pink stain from the time he and i stayed up until 3am and laughter took a hold of us, roaring loudly from the pits of our stomachs, when i spilt my glass of wine on our brand new white carpet.

my dream door is occasionally decorated with notes from our neighbours because our love was overwhelmed with passion the night before.

this house has a scratch all the way up the staircase because the movers didn't relaize they were catching the wall when they moved the new crib up.

my dream house has two little creatures, made up of half of him and half of me, running around and filling the walls with laughter on the days he and i are unable to laugh.

this house is filled with magic from his fingers running through my hair as we lay in front of the fire the night my father passes away.

my dream house has a window that doesn't sit quite straight because he insisted on fixing it himself and a tree in the backyard missing a branch from when one of the little creatures fell and broke their arm.

my dream house has scratches and stains and marks,

it's been worn and mistreated and loved.

it has had the dirty shoes of so many loved ones trudge along its floors and its walls are the secret keepers when we thought no one was listening.

my dream house is filled with echoing laughter and love that has been created in, not only my dream house,

but my dream home.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.